Birthday

Black card folded
Glue name design
Hands on pencil
Stuck for a time
Couldn’t figure out
What to write about
To somehow make things special for you

Words filled the paper
But I’m not content
None could compare
To the things that I meant
How can I say
In some special way
That I’m somehow complete with you

Twenty years ago
When you took your first breath
And saw the first light
The same breath you breathe
When you whisper goodnight
When you speak to me words
That somehow seem right
They make sense
Yes, you bring the sense to my life

The best I can give
Are the words of my heart
The life that I live
May have torn me apart
But the fact that you care
That you’ll always be there
Makes it light
Life is worth living with you

I so want to say
Let’s marry away
I so want to feel
That trust that could heal
The patches of pain in you
I want to love you through and through
But I’m trapped in the dark
And I try to break free
And I beg you to wait for me
Please wait
I believe in you and me

Twenty years ago
When you took your first breath
And saw the first light
The same breath you breathe
When you tell me goodnight
When you whisper words
That somehow seem right
They make sense
Yes, you bring the sense to my life

And there are things I’ll prove to be true
Happy birthday, I love you

Comments are closed.