Through A Reflection

I glance at the screen in front of me
Caught a glimpse of you passing by
Through a reflection, I see you walk away
And the screen reflects my quiet sigh

I stand up to take a break with friends
And hold back the attention I want to give to you
I return to the screen where my work resides
And the reflection observes me as I think of you

If by chance I get to talk to you
I’m calm and I say things casually
But the screen reflects an anxious face
As I wait for your reply to me

When you wear the shirt I’ve given you
I refuse to show my happy smile
Inspired, my work is heavy less and less
And the reflection sees that I smile for a while

I miss the time when I could express what I feel
In silly ways and without disguise
Stubborn and childish, I chose to ignore
The disapproval that reflected in your eyes

I chose to change when you broke my heart
By refusing to break it like I asked
And the screen reflected my teary face
As I went on quietly with my task

So I keep my silence and won’t express
The affection I still feel for you
And the me that my screen reflects
Is more mature because of you

And from time to time, that screen in front of me
Catches a glimpse of you passing by
Through a reflection, I see you walk away
And the screen reflects my quiet sigh

Comments are closed.